How Did You Get Here?

When people find out about my interest in photography, they have lots of questions about how I got started. So I figured this would be a good time to kick off the blog and tell a story, a true story.

Back in 1987 I had a beautiful blue eyed baby girl. She had the most beautiful eyes I had ever seen. I bet what I am about to say some other parents will relate to if this ever happened to them. I always wanted to take pictures of my little baby girl, but the sad part was the camera that I had at the time was not able to get in close and take pictures of her in focus. It was not able to do close-up pictures at all, so I missed so many valuable memories that I couldn’t capture day to day. I got so mad over this that I made it my goal in life to remedy this situation as quickly as I could. She was born in February that year and by October 1987 I had gotten my very first 35mm SLR camera. This changed my life! So I may not have the newborn pictures, but from about the time I got this new camera till now I have pretty much documented her life in pictures.

Say “Hi!” to Christin. 🙂

So I took this new interest very seriously. I didn’t just get the camera, I made it my “job” to study photography. I went to the library and took home as many photography books that they would let me check out at a time and I read them all. Then I would take them back and get more. At the time I was working from home babysitting for other parents. Then when I needed to go out and get another job, I got hired as a photographer by a national portrait company. I actually have worked for that same company (in a different division) again after I relocated. The experience I gained working for them allowed me to learn more about shooting portraits of babies, children, families and everything in between. I still did my creative photography every chance I got.

In the late 80’s to early 90’s I took a photography course that helped me to gain even further understanding and forced me to do assignments and of course get my work assessed and critiqued. During the early 90’s I started learning and practicing hand-coloring of B&W images and doing retouching.

Over the years people have asked me why I wasn’t doing photography as a business and the honest answer to that is that I knew I wanted to, but I just wasn’t ready to pursue it. What changed? Well, about 6 years ago I met my husband. He happens to be a disc jockey and has been for over 30 years. About 3 years ago I also started doing weddings, events and parties, playing music and emceeing. I have gotten so comfortable with the timelines and details of weddings that I just knew it will be that much easier for me to transition into photographing them. I came to the realization that this could be the fruition of my life dream. More than anything I want to travel, see new places, experience new things and photograph it all. I have been heard saying my life dream is to “travel with my camera in my hand” many times over the years. As I have done more studying about doing wedding photography and I came to the topic of destination weddings….I got excited. I won’t say that is where I intend to start, however, I know eventually that time will come and I will be more than ready for it. In the meantime, I am so much looking forward to providing wedding photography for the Atlanta, GA market.


Remember that cute baby up there?
This is one of my favorite images I have done of her.



Even though my website is not completed yet, no time like the present to get it out there on the web http://www.sherijohnsonphotography.com/


About sherijohnson

photographer, web designer, entertainer, dj, internet marketing, graphic design, business owner
This entry was posted in atlanta wedding photographer, atlanta wedding photography, cumming ga photographer, cumming ga photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Did You Get Here?

Leave a Reply

